Ms. LaVerne's Class

  • As four-year-olds, we are getting ready for "big" school. We have become social butterflies and love playing games in small groups. Our favorites are Number and Alphabet Bingo. We are practicing following 3 to 4 instructions in order. Ms. LaVerne gives us plenty of opportunities to practice our beginning writing skills.
    Here are just a few of the ways I am growing and developing during this important year:
    • I LOVE to talk, talk, talk and to ask questions.  I am extremely curious about everything.

    • I begin to notice the differences between myself and my friends like hair, clothes, and gender.

    • I am developing spatial awareness -- that means awareness of my body and its position in my surroundings.

    • Now I can recognize numbers and letters out of order and I understand opposites.

    • Teacher:
      Ms. LaVerne
    • Age Group:
      4-5 Year Olds
    • Class Size:
      12 Children
    • Daily Session:
      9:00 am – 12:15 pm
  • Class Schedule

  • Our daily classroom schedule varies based on the season, day of the week, special activities, and the moods of our preschoolers! Here is an example of a typical day in Ms. LaVerne's class.
    • 9:00
      Arrival & Center Activities
    • 9:15
      Bathroom / Wash Up
    • 9:30
      Music / Monkeynastics
    • 10:00
      Chapel Time (Th)
    • 10:15
      Snack Time
    • 10:30
      Outside / Playground Activities
    • 10:45
      Bathroom / Wash Up
    • 11:00
      Circle Time / Literacy Activities
    • 11:15
      Art
    • 11:45
      Literacy Activities / Table Games
    • 12:00
      Story Time / Departure
  • Fall Enrollment is Happening Now!

  • About Ms. LaVerne

    • LaVerne Hester
      Teacher

      LaVerne Hester

      Teacher

      I have been teaching four-year-olds for more than 14 years, and it has been an amazing experience. Fours have a brain that absorbs like a sponge, and when you see that light go off that they finally understand a new concept, it is truly priceless.

      • My Favorite Color:
        Earth Tones
      • My Favorite Children’s Book:
        Duck Rides a Bike
      • My Favorite Restaurant:
        Outback
      • My Favorite Vacation Spot:
        The Mountains
      • My Hobby:
        Reading and Traveling